My First Hactoberfest ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

My First Hactoberfest ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

ยท

3 min read

Open Source is a great way to collaborate with folks around the world, and the events like Hacktoberfest brings more joy to it. Hello Hashnode ๐Ÿ‘‹, I am Shivam, and today I am going to share my first "Hacktoberfest" experience with you all.

First Time

I started contributing to open source in September 2021 and from that until now, I enjoyed every single bit of it. At the start, open source was a bit confusing and difficult for me but contributing on the daily basis to different projects like ReactPlay, LinkFree, Sukoon, etc helped me to understand open-source more deeply

In the last six months, I've been more interested in open source, and I wanted to attend Hacktoberfest to cooperate with more individuals.

image.png

Hactoberfest Journey

The First PR

Kanika Gola's Amazon-clone project was my first Hacktoberfest project to which I contributed. This project is built on React JS, and I discovered it on Twitter. While working on this project, I learned a few new things.

Like-

React Bootstrap

React Routes

Props in React

  • After working on this project, I began looking for the next project to work on during Hacktoberfest.

The Second PR

Susmita Dey's TextUtils project was my second Hacktoberfest project to which I contributed. This project is based on React JS, and I included the Text-to-Speech component. This project taught me about:

SpeechRecognition

useState

useEffect

State handling

  • With these two PRs, I've reached the halfway mark of Hacktoberfest.

Screenshot (210).png

The Third PR

I've returned to the Amazon-Clone project. I wanted to contribute more to this project because it taught me a lot of new things. So, I again raise an issue for this project and created a PR for that. My contribution to this project was little this time; I simply added a "Show More Results" button. By applying some-

functions and ternary operator logics.

  • Now that I've finished the three contributions, I'm eager to contribute and learn more.

image.png

The Fourth PR.

  • Now for the Fourth Contribution, I found a new project named Animation Buttons. This is the project where you may find any form of HTML, CSS, or JavaScript button. So I decided to create a button using some of my JavaScript knowledge.

So, I created an issue, raised a PR, and with this merged pull request, my 4 contributions for the Hactoberfest got completed.

image.png

After Hactoberfest's 4 PRs

After approving four PRs, I began contributing to other projects since "Hactoberfest" is only a helping hand that will help you stand out in the field of Open Source; after that, it will be your choice whether to move forward or remain where you are.

So, I decided to move on with more learnings, projects, and contributions. I recently contributed to Linkfree and ReactPlay and learned a lot as a result.

Conclusion

I hope you found this blog informative; please remember to like and share it with your friends.

You can learn more about me and my contributions by clicking here.

GitHub

Twitter

ShowwCase

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Shivam Katare by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย