4 Lessons I learned by building my latest project.

4 Lessons I learned by building my latest project.

Β·

3 min read

Hey πŸ‘‹ Hashnode, learning things by building projects is one of the great ways to learn any technology. I recently completed a project called Talkative Image Gallery and learned a lot from it.

In this blog, I am going to share the technical learnings that I learned in this blog, but instead of that, I'll share Lessons that I learned in this project

Meet My Latest Project. Talkative Image GalleryπŸ‘‡

image.png

This Image Gallery allows us to listen to the images by hovering over them. The image will tell them about themselves. I contributed this project to an Open Source community named ReactPlay.

I used React JS and CSS to build this project. To see the live demo, follow the steps below.

Live Demo

  • There is the link below. Click on that, and then click on this Image Gallery Project.

image.png

Learnings From Project.

This project gives me many things. Although this was a small project, I learned a lot from it. I learned some Technical Things and Non-Technical Things. There are several things I learned while working on this project that I'd want to share with you.

Points I Learned and Noticed

Here are the four points that I noticed and learned from this projectπŸ‘‡

A) We don't learn to ride a bicycle...

Purple Minimal Modern Paper Texture Inspirational Quote Instagram Post.png

The first thing I learned from this project is that we cannot build everything simply by looking at it. We have to try out building that particular technology or project. In this process, we will get stuck and get too many errors, and getting over those errors will give us the confidence to build that technology or project.

B) Enjoy the little things...

Purple Minimal Modern Paper Texture Inspirational Quote Instagram Post (1).png

The second thing I learned from this project is to appreciate and cherish our small wins. When starting on any project, keep an eye on your day-to-day progress. Small achievement provides us the confidence to develop outstanding projects, and ignoring little progress will make it harder to complete that project or technology.

C) You don't have to be a Good Start...

Purple Minimal Modern Paper Texture Inspirational Quote Instagram Post (2).png

The third lesson I've taken away from this project is that we don't need everything to build anything. If you don't have all of the resources and information required to create the project and technology, start with what you have. Like in this project, I was blank about how I implement the "Talking Images" (Although it becomes simple when I start building it). So all you have to do now is start working on a project.

Last but not least, the thing that I learned from this project is

D) Don't Be Afraid To Start Over...

Purple Minimal Modern Paper Texture Inspirational Quote Instagram Post (3).png

We should not be frightened to start over with our project. I created this project twice. When I tried the first, I was confused about the Gallery design and the implementation. So, with all that confusion, I started working on the project, but things were not going as smoothly as they could. So I decided to start over. This time, I knew about my mistakes. I'm aware of the things I don't have to do.

So, don't be afraid to start over. Because you're not starting from scratch this time; instead, you're starting from experience.

Conclusion

So, these are the four things that I learned from this project. I hope you learn something from this project. If this blog teaches you something, then like this blog and share it with others. You can explore the project code from here.

You can also join me on these platforms.πŸ‘‡

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Shivam Katare by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

Β